Many people may not know that New York is a no-fault state when it comes to car accidents or they may not know what a no-fault state is.
If you are one of these, read on to learn about New York no fault insurance.
What Does No Fault State Mean?
If you are wondering "what is a no fault state," a no fault state is a state where drivers are not typically held liable for damages in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. This means that drivers do not need to prove that the other driver was at fault in order to receive damages, and that drivers' insurance companies will typically cover damages regardless of who is at fault.
What Are Some Benefits To No Fault States?
No fault states typically have lower insurance rates, as the insurance companies are not as likely to go to court over damages. Also, there is no delay in getting compensation after an accident. Your insurance should take care of you fairly quick. You typically don't have to go through a long legal battle for smaller amounts of compensation.
Is New York a No Fault State?
Yes, New York is a “no-fault” insurance state. This means that insured person are typically reimbursed through their insurance company for any damage, regardless of who caused the accident (or was "at fault"). However, this insurance only covers up to certain amounts, after which you still will need a personal injury lawsuit to recover compensation for further damages.
New York No Fault Insurance Laws
In New York, there are certain New York no fault regulations or insurance minimums that must be met for you to be able to register your car and get license plates:
No-Fault (Personal Injury Protection or PIP) - this is insurance coverage to pay for any medical expenses, lost earnings, and other expenses for someone injured in an accident in or by your car.
Liability - this is insurance coverage to pay for any damage your car (or someone else's car that you are driving) may do.
Uninsured Motorists - this is insurance coverage to protect against any injuries you, your family, or your passengers may suffer in an accident with someone who doesn't have insurance.
The New York state no fault law requires that all registered motor vehicles have liability insurance with the following minimum coverage:
$25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury per person
$50,000/$100,000 for death
$10,000 for property damage per accident
Contact Curan & Ahlers Today!
If you were in a car accident in New York, it's best to contact a personal injury attorney to discuss your options. Having an experienced injury attorney at your side can make all the difference when it comes to recovering the compensation you deserve. At Curan & Ahlers, we've been helping New York residents with their injury cases since 1986. Contact us today for a free case consultation.